Land on Water

LAND ON WATER

A DOCUMENTRY BY TOM LEMKE

 

SYNOPSIS
Silvio lives in a ghost village. In 1998, the inhabitants were resettled so that the brown coal underneath the village could be mined.
More than 900 years ago, the first settlers called the place “land by the water,” due to the fact that a small stream flowed through the countryside. With this water, Silvio cultivates small agricultural spaces in the village and waters his cattle. He has thus recaptured his home village, which had become useless. How long he can continue to earn his livelihood here is uncertain. No-one knows when the opencast mining excavators will finally arrive here. Ever-present is the noise of the conveyor belt, which has transported coal uninterruptedly, just a few kilometres away, for decades. Although the houses in the village are gradually being demolished, Silvio is not alone. His neighbour, with his more than one hundred-year-old family business, continues to forge against time, while Norbert, the last remaining inhabitant of the likewise affected neighbouring village, is rebelling staunchly against the resettlement. Sometimes, former inhabitants come by. People still help each other; but an entire village community is disappearing. Even as the final co-inhabitants have left the place, Silvio continues trying to resist the inevitable. Knowing full well that the end cannot be deterred.

 



 

PRODUCTION NOTES
In the year 2003 the Leipzig director Tom Lemke investigated in the southern part of Saxony-Anhalt. To the east of Hohenmölsen, a region where the opencast mining Profen has been dominating the landscape and the life of the people for decades, he got to know three men, Silvio, Dieter and Norbert. They all lived in places, which actually were not existing anymore. Grunau, Domsen, Großgrimma. The villages were left by their inhabitants at the end of the nineties. Only the three men stayed there waiting for things that may come in form of open cast mine excavators.
The first interviews in 2003 turned into a long-term observation. Tom Lemke kept in touch with the three men and visited them again and again. Together with his camera operator he has captured the slow farewell. As time went by it became increasingly evident that the life there will come to an end. The documentary film “Land on Water“ is a result of this long-term observation, which continued until the year 2014.
 
CREW
Director: Tom Lemke
Camera: Mathias Schulze
Editor: René Jacob
Sound Designer: Fabian Schneider
Music: Falk Zenker
Digital Colorist: Kay Dombrowsky
Producer: Thomas Jeschner
 

 

DIRECTOR TOM LEMKE
Tom Lemke, born in 1976 in Großenhain, Germany, finished in 2001 the education of media designer in Leipzig. After he was living in Chile, he shooted his first documentary “The Whispering of the Trees” in 2006 in the south of Chile. Today he is working as a filmmaker and author in Germany.
 
    Filmography
    The Whispering of the Trees (2007)
 
FILMINFOS
Shooting Period: 2003 to 2014
Running Time: 85min
Language: Deutsch
Shooting Locations: Gemeinde Großgrimma, Sachsen-Anhalt
 

funded by Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung and Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt

LAND AM WASSER

LAND AM WASSER

ein Dokumentarfilm von Tom Lemke

 

INHALT

Silvio lebt in einem Geisterdorf. 1998 wurden die Bewohner umgesiedelt, damit die Braunkohle darunter abgebaut werden kann.
Vor über 900 Jahren nannten die ersten Siedler den Ort „Land am Wasser“, weil ein kleiner Bach durch die Landschaft fließt. Mit diesem Wasser bestellt Silvio kleine Agrarflächen im Dorf und tränkt sein Vieh. Seinen Heimatort, der nutzlos geworden war, hat er so als Landwirt wieder erobert. Wie lange er hier seinen Lebensunterhalt noch verdienen kann, ist ungewiss. Niemand weiß, wann die Tagebaubagger hier letztendlich ankommen werden. Allgegenwärtig ist das Geräusch des Förderbandes, das seit Jahrzehnten in wenigen Kilometer Entfernung ununterbrochen Kohle transportiert. Die Häuser des Dorfes werden zwar nach und nach abgerissen, aber Silvio ist nicht allein. Sein Nachbar schmiedet im über hundertjährigen Familienbetrieb weiter gegen die Zeit und Norbert, vom ebenfalls betroffenen Nachbarort, rebelliert als Letzter eisern gegen die Umsiedlung. Manchmal kommen auch ehemalige Bewohner vorbei. Man hilft sich noch immer und nebenbei verschwindet eine ganze Dorfgemeinde. Als auch die letzten Mitbewohner den Ort verlassen haben, versucht Silvio, sich weiter gegen das Unvermeidliche zu stemmen. Wohl wissend, dass das Ende nicht aufzuhalten ist.

FILMAUSSCHNITTE

PRODUKTIONSNOTIZEN

Im Jahr 2003 recherchierte der Leipziger Regisseur Tom Lemke im südlichen Sachsen-Anhalt. Östlich von Hohenmölsen, dort wo der Tagebau Profen seit Jahrzehnten die Landschaft und das Leben der Menschen dominierte, lernte er drei Männer kennen, Silvio, Dieter und Norbert. Sie alle lebten in Orten, die es eigentlich nicht mehr gab. Grunau, Domsen, Großgrimma. Die Dörfer wurden Ende der 1990er Jahre von ihren Bewohnern verlassen. Nur die drei sind geblieben und harrten der Dinge, die da in Form der Tagebaubagger kommen sollten.
Aus den ersten Interviews 2003 ist eine Langzeitbeobachtung geworden. Tom Lemke hielt den Kontakt zu den drei Männern und fuhr immer wieder zu ihnen. Mit seinem Kameramann Mathias Schulze fing er den langsamen Abschied ein. Mit den Jahren wurde immer klarer, dass das Leben dort eine Ende haben wird.
Aus der Langzeitbeobachtung,die bis ins Jahr 2014 hineinreichte, entstand der Dokumentarfilm „Land am Wasser“.

CREW

Regie: Tom Lemke
Kamera: Mathias Schulze
Schnitt: René Jacob
Sound Design: Fabian Schneider
Musik: Falk Zenker
Digital Colorist: Kay Dombrowsky
Producer:Thomas Jeschner

REGISSEUR TOM LEMKE

Tom Lemke wurde 1976 in Großenhain bei Dresden geboren. In Leipzig beendete er 2001 seine Ausbildung zum Media Designer. Er lebte in Chile und produzierte dort seine erste Dokumentation „The Whispering of the Trees“ im Jahr 2006. Heute arbeitet er als Regisseur und Autor in Leipzig.

Filmografie

The Whispering of the Trees (2007)

FILMINFOS

Drehzeitraum: 2003 to 2014
Länger: 85min
Sprache: Deutsch
Drehort: Gemeinde Großgrimma, Sachsen-Anhalt

gefördert von der Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und der Kunststiftung Sachsen-Anhalt